Diving back into crochet

In the past week or so, I’ve been getting back into crochet. I’d forgotten how relaxing it is – hook in, hook out, rhythmic sets of pattern and colour… and watching it all come together at the end. Lovely.

Scarf :)
I worked up this scarf in single crochet with debbie bliss “cashmerino aran”, and it is so soft and squishy… in retrospect, I realise I probably should have used a larger hook, but it’s okay šŸ™‚ I don’t mind the close stitches. Actually I quite like it. The scarf isn’t finished yet, but it will be soon, and I shall be sad to finish it! But… of course… happy to wear it when winter rolls around and I have a scarf that matches my red and black clothing (which is more copious than you would think).

I started with the scarf, and then when I realised it was helping my anxiety so much and I was running out of scarf to crochet… I went down to the yarn shop around the corner (oh so handy to have one just around the corner – and oh so dangerous!) and bought some more yarn to make another ripple blanket. Ripple blankets are by far my favourite type of blanket. I use this pattern from attic24, one of my favourite blogs to read šŸ™‚ She has such wonderful instructions – well photographed and explained. And I love looking at her pictures and projects – she has such a nice eye for bright bright colour. Bright colours are my favourite šŸ™‚

Start of ripple...
All the colours with the beginning of the blanket started

So I got some Rowan by amy butler “belle organic dk”. I told myself I wouldn’t use a pricey yarn for my next blanket, but the colours were just perfect. I’d been imagining making a blanket made from lovely deep autumn colours for some time… and there they were. The yardage was good, and it contained cotton (I wanted it to be cotton or half cotton – and it’s 50/50 wool/cotton) so I decided to give it a go. I’m happy I did, because it has a lovely drape and it feels nice and soft. It untwists a little when you crochet it, and there is some splitting, but it’s not too over-the-top annoying or anything. So really it’s a thumbs up.

The blanket’s still in the small stage where it doesn’t look too funny to carry about in a tote bag. Though I know that the blanket being huge doesn’t stop me from taking it around with me later, at this time I can take all my yarns that I’m using with me also. They all fit nice and neatly into my cat-on-mushroom bag.

Yarny goodness!
How yummy does that look?

One of my favourite parts of ripple blankets is arranging and picking the colours. I think with a granny square blanket, it would be far more difficult, and I’d be so scared of messing up (though that won’t stop me from making a granny blanket in the future, I’m sure). Then when I’m all done with the first 2 rows of each colour and I see them all together it’s a very special moment. And when I keep going with the repeat and the colours still fit so nicely together… ahh it’s great! šŸ™‚

All the colours...
2 rows of each colour… yay! Pardon the lighting, it was evening, but you get the idea! More pics later in better lighting, of course…

Yes and if you know me, you know I’ve already done another ripple blanket… though not finished it. Don’t worry, I shan’t be abandoning it. I love it far too much to abandon it! It’s just been very difficult to get into the city to buy more yarn this year – and even just to crochet has been difficult. Being housebound with chronic fatigue really sucks šŸ˜¦ I am so grateful that I am able to do this again… here it is on ravelry – though it is much bigger now. Some of the colours were discontinued while I was making it, so I had to panic and buy a few extra skeins of each colour being discontinued. I’m not sure you can even still get the other colours! But I’m hoping. And I will damn well track them down and buy them individually over ebay if I have to. So much love for this blankie. Though, tragedy – the silverfish got to it when I stored it in the lounge. I am so upset. But I know that I can stitch it back together alright. No matter how bug eaten it ever gets, it’ll still be a favourite.

Ahh, so nice to crochet again. Perhaps I can get back into spinning again too – I rather miss it. Today I shall keep going on my blanket if I can while I’m on panadeine forte (I feel so fuzzy ><) and probably watch some torchwood. I'm having a craving for gaming, so if I can sit up without hurting myself too much I might play The Sims. I'm looking forward to when I am a bit better, because then I can go Christmas shopping šŸ™‚ I sense a big shopping trip in the city coming on…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Diving back into crochet

  1. jesscw says:

    Those colours are lovely! thats scarfs gonna be great, and that blanket! yumm! The wavy pattern is gonna look so damn cool. I can’t wait to see it finished! I tried knitting once, ended up creating the most elaborate knot you have ever seen.

Leave a Reply

