And so, I knit

Christmas and New Year passed pretty quickly. It wasn’t terribly eventful – we had my aunt visit, and a friend, and then I had a quiet new years with mum at home. The entire time through Christmas and New Year, my mother and I were sick, so we took it easy. I’m still a little under the weather, a few weeks later. It’s a little frustrating.

So, I haven’t been getting out much. It’s been rather quiet as I try to sit still so I can get better – which has been difficult as the new years sales are very tempting, and I did end up going out to them twice to buy some clothes (and at very good prices too!). Yesterday I went out and bought some knitting supplies at Tangled Yarns. I got a case of circular needle cords and tips which I should get quite a bit of use out of, a hank of malabrigo sock and a pattern and knitting book, “Little red in the city” by Ysolda Teague who is a favourite designer of mine. Every single jumper in the book I like, and the instructions at the front are very helpful. Soon, I would like to knit a cardigan for myself. Though, I am worried I will lose weight and it will no longer fit when I want to wear it, since I’ve been losing weight steadily for a few months now. So in the meantime I am knitting Ysolda’s “Damson” from another of her pattern books I have.
Yarrrn
The yarn I bought and promptly balled up to use (It’s Malabrigo Sock in “Violeta Africana”

Start of Damson Shawl
The start of my “Damson” shawl

As you can see it is coming along rather well, and it hasn’t taken long as I did all this in the past hour or two this morning. I think I could finish it in a few days, or by the end of this week, if I work on it steadily and often πŸ™‚ I’m finding it very easy… especially compared to the last shawl I worked on, Aeolian Shawl which I still haven’t finished as I became very ill whilst doing it and never got around to picking it up again. Some of the stitches have fallen off during the time I haven’t been working on it, and I am quite afraid I won’t be able to fix it, but I think I shall try and finish it soon-ish. Then, I shall have two shawls to wear on special occasions, or just when I feel like it πŸ™‚
As for the crochet blanket I spoke of last entry, it has grown quite a bit since. I’ve started on new balls of each colour, and soon I’ll have to go get some more.
It's growing...
Here it is all roughly folded on my bed.

It’s feeling really lovely. It is warm but not too warm, and the yarn is lovely and smooth and soft. It’s already gotten to the point where it is making me warm while I work on it, and since there’s a heatwave going on at the moment I work on it in air conditioning. Though my progress of it has been a little halted since I went to the doctor the other day and found out that my weird shoulder pain which I’ve been ignoring for months is actually tendonitis… oops! So, going to try not to crochet and knit TOO much because it makes it more inflamed, apparently. Gah!
So I’ve been reading a bit more. I finished Queen of the Damned and now I’m on to Pride & Prejudice, because I felt like something a little more relaxing to read. I am really loving reading it the second time, and I think I’ll continue onto Sense & Sensibility which I never did finish (though I think I got almost – or at least – half way through). I’m almost finished, too.
I have a somewhat busy month ahead of me, which makes me happy. Well, somewhat busy by my standards! I have a birthday party to go to, and a book launch, and then I’m going to see Mary Poppins! I’m pretty excited about that, since I loved the movie when I was a child (and it’s still awesome) and I love going to the theatre and seeing musicals and plays. If only I wasn’t so sick, I’d be working on being up there with those people on stage, but for now I satisfy myself with just watching. It’s nice and fun to go out and dress all pretty for the evening. Perhaps I shall have my shawl finished by then, and I can wear it for the evening! That would be intensely satisfying.
In the meantime, sigh! I am rather bored. Being sick is not fun, and I’ve gone and got used to not being sick before I got sick! Since my over six months of being bedridden, I’d forgotten how nice it is to go out a few times a week, and I’d only just remembered, and now I can’t do it again! But I’m almost better – almost! Then I think I will go into the city for the day and get some coffee (which I’m not allowed) and watch people, and read, write or knit or just do all three and have done with it… but probably not at the same time πŸ˜‰ I don’t have that many arms…
Now off to probably finish my book, and I think I’ll watch a movie. It’s way too quiet! Need more noise!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And so, I knit

  1. jesscw says:

    That Blanket is looking Lovely! the wave and the colours are fab! Its grown so big!

Leave a Reply

